3 Questions of Decluttering

As I prepare for my upcoming move, I’ve decided to take some of the advice I’ve read over the years, and come up with the 3 most important questions I need to ask of each possession I will be bringing with me.  My goal is to have less, surround myself with only what I love, appreciate those items, and rid myself of things that have negative ‘juju’ clinging to them.  Out with the jeans that give me muffin top, the old gifts from exes I no longer wish to be reminded of, and all of the junky items I purchased when I should have saved up and bought the quality item I really wanted!

My Three Questions:

  1. Do I love it?
  2. Do I use it?
  3. Does it make my life better?

These questions have really jump-started my decluttering.  Instead of waffling over a shirt that is mostly OK, but is never all that comfortable to wear, I can confidently answer “no” to the first question, and off it goes to the donate pile.  I’m in a good space mentally and emotionally to let go of many items that I’ve been trucking along for years due to guilt, the dreaded “what if I need it”s, or shame at how much I spent on something that got little or no use.  It also doesn’t hurt that every item I throw away is one less item to box up and lug into my new house!

Leave a Reply

